Rutland County Council



Catmose Oakham Rutland LE15 6HP. Telephone 01572 722577 Email democraticservices@rutland.gov.uk

Minutes of the 254th **(SPECIAL) MEETING of the COUNCIL** held in the Oakham Castle, Market places, Oakham, LE15 6DR on Wednesday, 6th December, 2023 at 7.00 pm

PRESENT: Councillor A Brown (Chairman) Councillor S Harvey (Vice-Chairman)

Councillor P Browne Councillor M Chatfield Councillor G Clifton Councillor K Corby Councillor H Edwards Councillor D Ellison Councillor M Farina Councillor K Heckels Councillor O Hemsley Councillor A Johnson Councillor S Lambert Councillor S McRobb Councillor R Payne Councillor R Powell Councillor R Ross Councillor L Stephenson

Councillor G Waller Councillor C Wise

OFFICERS Mark Andrews Chief Executive

PRESENT: Sarah Khawaja Head of Legal and Democratic Services

Tom Delaney Democratic Services Manager

Kate Haworth Civic Officer

Mathew Waik Communications Service Manager

ABSENT: Councillor N Begy Councillor T Carr

Councillor K Payne Councillor T Smith Councillor A West Councillor D Wilby

Councillor H Zollinger-Ball

1 APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors N Begy, T Carr, K Payne, T Smith, A West, D Wilby and H Zollinger-Ball.

2 CHAIRMAN'S ANNOUNCEMENTS

The Chairman confirmed he would be providing a full set of announcements at the next ordinary meeting of Council, but paid tribute to former Councillor Barrie Roper who had recently passed away, Councillor Roper had represented Ketton on this Council from 1999 through to stepping down in 2015, in which time he served on a number of bodies including across the Scrutiny function as both a Committee Member, and Chair of Committees including the Scrutiny Commission.

3 ANNOUNCEMENTS FROM THE LEADER, MEMBERS OF THE CABINET OR THE HEAD OF PAID SERVICE

There were no announcements from the Leader, Members of the Cabinet or the Head of Paid Service.

4 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

There were no declarations of interest.

5 PETITIONS, DEPUTATIONS AND QUESTIONS FROM MEMBERS OF THE PUBLIC

No petitions, deputations or questions had been received form the public.

6 QUESTIONS FROM MEMBERS OF THE COUNCIL

No questions had been received from Members of the Council.

7 CONFERRING THE TITLE OF HONORARY ALDERMAN

Report No. 169/2023 was received from the Chief Executive. The Chairman outlined the role of Honorary Alderman, which was a title conferred upon former Councillors recognition of exemplary achievements during a period of long service. Two nominations had been received for the title of Honorary Alderman to be conferred upon former Councillors Kenneth Bool and Jeff Dale, both of whom had stepped down from the Council at the elections to the Council in May 2023 following 20 years continuous service.

---oOo--Councillor P Browne entered the meeting at 19:14
---oOo---

Members spoke in support of conferring the title of Honorary Alderman on Mr Bool, citing his years of service across the Council and in particular his 6 years of service as Chairman of the Council where he had ensured Council debates were of the highest quality whilst always being mindful of the needs of residents. Mr Bool was also noted for his many years as the Council's representative on the Combined Fire Authority where he had been considered to always represent Rutland's interests whilst ensuring services across all areas were of the highest quality.

Members also spoke in support of conferring the title of Honorary Alderman on Mr Dale, citing his service across many Council Committees and bodies as a backbencher and committee chair before serving two years as Chairman. It was noted Mr Dale had always taken a strong independent approach to this Council work whilst also working together with Members of all political affiliations and none. In addition, it was noted that Mr Dale had dedicated countless hours to voluntary and charitable endeavours outside of the Council raising money for local charities and primary schools.

It was moved by Councillor G Waller and seconded that the recommendations of Report No. 169/2023 be approved. Upon being put to the vote, with 21 votes in favour the motion was unanimously carried.

RESOLVED

That Council:

- a) **CONFERED** upon Mr Kenneth Bool the title of Honorary Alderman of the County of Rutland.
- b) **CONFERED** upon Mr Jeff Dale the title of Honorary Alderman of the County of Rutland.
- c) **INSTRUCTED** the Chief Executive to arrange for Mr Bool and Mr Dale's names to be placed on a Roll of Honorary Alderman.

The Chairman congratulated Aldermen Bool and Dale on their appointment and after presenting them with their honorary scrolls invited both to address Council.

Alderman Bool thanked Members for honouring him and spoke of his immense privilege he felt to have the title of Honorary Alderman conferred on him. Alderman Bool spoke fondly of his time working with Members on all sides throughout his time on the Council and spoke of the importance of Members not only coming together, but also keeping and working together.

Alderman Dale thanked Members for honouring him. Alderman Dale cited the importance of the Council in the everyday lives of all residents and the equally important role that Councillors played within the Council alongside officers and Parish Councils' in caring about the needs of their residents.

Both Alderman also thanked their families for their unwavering love and support throughout their time as Councillors.

8 DATE OF NEXT MEETING

This was noted to be Monday, 26 February.

---000----

The Chairman declared the meeting closed at 7.39 pm.

---000---